Very true, but it's going to be fairly easy to attempt an appeal on it.
Definitely a call-it-as-you-see-it, and if I regarded it as a strike I would
call it as such, but I'm thinking if the kid appealed it, it would be fairly
easy to claim he never meant to actually hit him.
-- Scott Ferguson
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Discussion of Topics for Soccer Referees
> [mailto:[log in to unmask]]On Behalf Of David Bradshaw
> Sent: Thursday, 12 October 2000 17:29
> To: [log in to unmask]
> Subject: Re: Accuracy can hurt
> If, in the opinion of the referee, the kicker deliberately aimed to strike
> and hurt the opponent, he has committed a very serious offence, and should
> be sent-off for violent conduct.
> Regards, David Bradshaw.
> ----- Original Message -----
> From: "BUNTEN,STEVE (HP-FtCollins,ex1)" <[log in to unmask]>
> To: <[log in to unmask]>
> Sent: Thursday, October 12, 2000 3:41 AM
> Subject: Accuracy can hurt
> > I copied this from a soccer forum I read sometimes. What do others
> > think? He says at the end of the message that he will later post
> > what the ref in the game did which I will pass along.
> > Steve
> > -----
> > I witnessed quite an amazing exchange this week.
> > I hung around the fields after "my" game was over & started watching a
> > pretty good-looking boys game. These boys looked about 16-17ish. I'm not
> > sure. Player on white took out a red player really hard around 30 yards
> > (probably saved a break away). The foul clearly hurt the red player, and
> > infuriated him too (as we'll see).
> > After gathering himself and walking off the pain, the red player set to
> > the DFK. The offending white player was in the wall and when the red
> > saw this he called out "Hey, cheap-shot; Straight into your
> nuts or right
> > down your throat - what's your choice?"
> > Ref said something to the effect of "Knock it off, Red. Play."
> > And then - one of the most amazing things I ever saw: With
> white covering
> > his groin area in the traditional manner, red let loose a thunderbolt
> > STRAIGHT INTO WHITE'S MUG & bloodied his nose but good (I don't
> know if he
> > broke it, but the white player never returned to play).
> > I could hardly believe it. I didn't know whether to be appalled or
> > impressed.