Date:Mon, 5 Feb 2001 12:37:40 -0800
Reply-To:Discussion of Topics for Soccer Referees <[log in to unmask]>
Sender:Discussion of Topics for Soccer Referees <[log in to unmask]>
From:Peter Fletcher <[log in to unmask]>
Subject:Re: Placement of a Direct Free Kick
>The defending team commits a penal foul about 20 yards away from the goal
>line. The ball bounces free and comes to rest 10 yards further away (now
>yards) from the goal line. Attacking coach yells "Keeper is out take it
>quickly!" Attacking team takes a shot at goal with the ball stationary at
>What is your call if:
>1) Ball goes into the goal,
>2) Ball goes over goal line, missing the goal?
In either case, 10 yards away is not "the spot of the foul" when the ball is
20 yards from the defender's goal line. If the foul is off to the side, the
attacking angle is much better 30 yards out. You should stop the restart
(or hit the whistle ASAP) before anything can happen.
I had a related experience last week. Less than two minutes into a high
school boys varsity match, I called dangerous play (high kick) against the
defense about 9 yards directly in front of the goal. I was immediately
there pointing to the location, precisely to allow the attackers to take a
quick kick if they wanted. An attacker quickly placed the ball 7 yards in
front (6 feet from where I was pointing) and immediately passed off to the
side to another attacker for a shot. He missed the shot at the same time I
whistled it back. I got some flak from the defender's coach ("They didn't
ask for 10 yards, they don't get a second chance"), but of course the issue
he was complaining about wasn't the reason that I called the ball back.
This is an area where a certain amount of courage/character comes into play.
If you would not allow the kick, don't change your mind just because of the
outcome. This is not an advantage situation.