From the comfort of my couch...
Did Brandi Chastain stick out a leg to try to poke the ball away from
Mia Hamm? Yes.
Did she make any contact with the ball? No.
Did Mia Hamm trip over the extended leg (or were her ankles caught by
the extended leg)? Yes
Was it a PK?
Consider: Did Brandi's leg extend into Mia's path *at the moment of the
challenge* and UNFAIRLY trip her?
OR, did Mia turn and change direction AFTER Brandi's leg was extended,
and only then fall victim (NOT unfairly) to Chastain's leg which was
not extended into Mia's original direction but caught Mia *only because
Mia changed direction after the challenge*?
Inquiring minds want to see you think this one through! You're the
referee. You're on national TV. Now what do you do?? :o)
*********** REPLY SEPARATOR ***********
On 4/14/2001 at 6:13 PM The Salganiks wrote:
>Was at the match, and, from upper deck, penalty call seemed iffy. For
>of you with benefit of slow motion, multiple angles, etc., what did
> -- Bill Salganik
>----- Original Message -----
>From: Jim Welnetz <[log in to unmask]>
>To: <[log in to unmask]>
>Sent: Saturday, April 14, 2001 4:20 PM
>I had tears of joy in my eyes when the game on TNT came on today.
>Attendanceof 34,100. Good show ladies. May we be blessed with good
>instead of bad acting, bad fouls, and bad mouths. Make it go for the
>of all the young ladies playing now. And Sandy Hunt wasn't bad.
>Jim in Packerland