Date:Mon, 20 Aug 2001 08:31:50 -0700
Reply-To:Discussion of Topics for Soccer Referees <[log in to unmask]>
Sender:Discussion of Topics for Soccer Referees <[log in to unmask]>
From:Chris Anderegg <[log in to unmask]>
Subject:Re: WUSA Semi Finals
I think the PK call was a mistake--two tough players arriving at the ball shoulder to shoulder--no foul.
But what about the handling of the free kick by New York at the end of the first half by Kari Seitz (sp?)? The spot was a few yards outside of the box and New York set up with two kickers. She pulled the wall back, then started to back pedal and made a signal with her hand pointing toward the goal. She then turned to look at the players behind her, and the first New York player ran over the ball. Then Seitz turned back to look at the kicker and by then the second kicker was approaching to take the kick, and then finally she blew the whistle, just a step before the ball was kicked.
Shouldn't she have stopped the kick once she saw it was already in motion prior to her whistle? It looks like she created a trick play for the attack.
>>> [log in to unmask] 8/20/01 7:16:40 AM >>>
So, for those of you who watched the second semi-final (Philly
versus Atlanta) what did you think of Ricardo's PK call? I know
he doesn't have the benefit of replay but it looked like a
pretty bad call from the TV viewpoint.
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Warren Rust [mailto:[log in to unmask]]
> > Did anyone watch the WUSA Semi Finals? I caught the
> > 2nd half of the 1st one and the entire 2nd one. Who
> > was the Referee for the 2nd Semi Final that went to
> > OT?
> CR - Ricardo Salazar,
> AR1 - Steven Davidson,
> AR2 - Brenda Wright,
> 4th - Rachel Woo,
> Assessor - Robert H. Perry