Date:Mon, 20 Aug 2001 13:09:50 -0700
Reply-To:Discussion of Topics for Soccer Referees <[log in to unmask]>
Sender:Discussion of Topics for Soccer Referees <[log in to unmask]>
From:Jim Geissman <[log in to unmask]>
Subject:Re: Off for Off-Side
> Offside. Restart will be where the infraction occurred,
> where #9 played the ball. Until then he was in an
> offside position, not involved in the play.
Don't forget, it's not necessary to touch the ball to be
"involved in active play." When his teammate singles
him out and passes the ball, and he starts back toward
the field to receive it, he has become involved. That
translates to an offside infraction as soon as he enters
the field, IMHO.