Skip
repetitive navigational links
L-Soft  -  Home of  the  LISTSERV  mailing list  manager LISTSERV(R) 14.3
Skip repetitive navigational links
Previous messageNext messagePrevious in topicNext in topicPrevious by same authorNext by same authorPrevious page (July 2003, week 4)Back to main SOCREF-L pageJoin or leave SOCREF-LReplyPost a new messageSearchProportional fontNon-proportional fontLog in
Date:   Sun, 27 Jul 2003 11:30:22 -0400
Reply-To:   "Robert T. Wright" <[log in to unmask]>
Sender:   Discussion of Topics for Soccer Referees <[log in to unmask]>
From:   "Robert T. Wright" <[log in to unmask]>
Subject:   Double Punishment
Content-Type:   text/plain; charset="iso-8859-1"

Relative to the discussions in the past week or so regarding double punishment, I think there was an example of this in last evening's MLS game, Dallas Vs. San Jose.

In the 90th minute, a defender "elbows" a retreating attacker in the back of the head, dropping him in the far corner of the PA 17.5 yards from the goal line. The referee has his back to the "action", having turned to follow the counter attack up field, but the AR sees the action, get's the referee's attention, and they have a small conference. The PK is awarded. NO CARD, conceivably direct red for striking, certainly yellow for USB, but then, that would have been the defender's second yellow, requiring a send off, so the decision is that the PK is enough punishment, no misconduct.

Did anyone else see it this way?


Back to: Top of message | Previous page | Main SOCREF-L page

LISTSERV.URI.EDU CataList email list search Powered by LISTSERV email list manager