"... D6 is pressured sufficiently from behind so that he cannot settle the
ball...and, instead, ...."
seems to be a pretty clear case of "interfering with a player" and/or
"influencing play". Was this "pressured sufficiently" judgement made by
the CR, the AR, or both?
1. The CR could make this call alone (either OS or non-OS) if in position
to properly detect the OSP (which we will assume is the case :-) and can
evaluate the consequence of the pressure
2. The CR could make the call of OS or no-OS if the AR has put the flag up
because the CR might be closer to D6/A9 to determine the "pressure" and
whether it should be punished. The AR might not be able to determine the
severity of the pressure but could see OSP and at least likely involvement
3. The CR and AR have mind-melded so the AR knows what the CR would do in
case #1 (or #2). Since the CR told the AR, "Offside is all yours; I will
go with you", there is no possibility of a wave-down or discussion needed
at the half-time or post-game.
4. The CR and AR have not mind-melded and the AR makes the OS call. The CR
helps sell the call because he had said, "Offside is all yours; I will go
5. The CR and AR have not mind-melded and the AR makes the no-OS call. The
CR helps sell the call because he had said, "Offside is all yours; I will
go with you".
6. The CR and AR have not mind-melded and the AR makes the OS call. The CR
wave the flag down in spite of having said, "Offside is all yours; I will
go with you". A half-time or post-game discussion is probably going to be had.
7. The CR and AR have not mind-melded and the AR makes the no-OS call. The
CR makes the OS call anyway (because of #1 above) in spite of having said,
"Offside is all yours; I will go with you". CR immediately needs to don
best salesman demeanor to sell the call.
I would hope cases #3, #4, and #5 would be the right things to do.
At 12:07 PM 08/28/2003 -0400, Jeff Caminsky wrote:
>All righty...let's see what kind of mess we can make out of this one.
>Last night, I passed my AR assessment for an upgrade. During the course of
>feedback from my assessor, we discussed the following situation that
>occurred during the match...and I thought it might be worth diverting our
>attention from sleeveless jerseys for a moment, to consider it.
>It is late in the game, with the scored tied, 1-1. A5 has the ball, in his
>own half of the field. A9 is in an offside position, just past D6.
>Assorted teammates of both players are scattered about the field...more or
> Line A11
> . A10 D7
>A5(o) . D4 D6 A9 K
> A4 .
> . A8 D5
>A5 lofts an arching, long ball into the middle of the field, toward the
>vicinity of D6, who is the only defender positioned to make a play for it.
>As the ball is in flight, A9 comes back to contest for the ball...and
>though A9 does not touch the ball, D6 is pressured sufficiently from behind
>so that he cannot settle the ball...and, instead, heads it away into the
>vicinity of A11 and D7.
>Query: Should the AR raise his flag to signal an offside infraction by
>A9...or should he keep his flag down? (Details at 11...)
Glenn R Sogge -- Referee: USSF (& Assignor),
NFHS/IHSA (Illinois), USFF State (Futsal),
email: [log in to unmask] | http://soccer-ref.quietfire.com
Don't wear your federation badge for unaffiliated matches: