On 4/1/07, Jim Duncan <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
> [log in to unmask] wrote:
> > I was asked the following question: If, on a kick off, the kicker decides
> > to kick the ball in his own goal can he score? Well, USSF indoor rules
> > say the ball can go in any direction... My thought was since you can
> > score on a kick off, the kick is direct. SO..., if a direct kick goes
> > into ones own goal, the restart is a corner kick, therefore no. Any other
> > opinions?
> There are no indirect kicks in USIndoor nor USSF Indoor. All kicks are
> direct, and are simply called "free kicks".
> USIndoor rules have do not have the restrictions on own-goals as USSF
> outdoor LOTG do for corner kicks and free kicks. An own-goal can be scored
> on a corner kick or most other free kicks except those initiated in the
> kicker's own penalty arch or a goalkeeper redistribution (in which case the
> ball is not in play until it has completely left the penalty arch).
> Pedants take note: A three-line violation cannot apply to a corner kick
> because the kick is in the direction of the player's own goal.
> I haven't studied the USSF Indoor rules intently, but they do not seem to
> have the restriction on own goals from free kicks as their outdoor LOTG.
> (I.e., they are similar to USIndoor in this respect.) In fact, Rule 13.3.A
> in the 2005 version that I just found on my laptop says that a goal may be
> scored against either team from _any_ free kick restart.
> So there you have it: In both USIndoor and USSF Indoor, if a player taking
> the kick-off kicks the ball directly into his or her own goal, the correct
> procedure is to award a goal to the other team and restart with a kick-off.
> Note, I'm certified for USIndoor, but not USSF Indoor. I hope to fix that
> very soon. It's probably time to ping my SRA again... ;-)
I stand corrected.
In the facility I normally work, they have the provision at the top
"for matters not specifically covered by these rules, FIFA 'Laws of
the Game' shall be followed when reasonably applicable". Nowhere in
these rules does it say that an own-goal *can* be scored from a
restart, so I defaulted to FIFA. I was unfamiliar with USIndoor/USSF
Indoor, hence I probably shouldn't have responded to this topic.
Some food for thought. Be sure to check out the rules where you're
working indoor, if they don't adhere strictly to the above mentioned
This is why I hate working at too many indoor places; I cannot keep
all their rule differences straight, and they won't commit totally to
USSF Indoor or USIndoor (whatever the differences are in these two)
because the owners of the facilities do as they feel. They add their
own little tweaks here and there and frankly, they drive me crazy.
After all, they own the place and they can do whatever they want.